The Last Handful of Clover

Three days after he was murdered, Richard Pratt began to feel much better…

A seemingly random act of violence propels Professor Richard Pratt into “The Hereafter.”  It is a strange, muted, netherworld of the dead—a world in which he is forced to bear witness to the loss and suffering of the man he left behind, and to the rapid demise of the city he called home.  And when the other denizens of his ghostly realm begin to enact a brutal revenge on the world of the living, it is only Richard Pratt that can save them.


With the help of a barefoot 15-year-old boy from the old West and an ancient Goshute wise woman, Richard Pratt sets out to save the man he loves, Salt Lake City, and his own wounded soul.  Together they must face a ferocious enemy bent on the complete destruction of a great American city.  An enemy with his fingers deep in Richard’s shameful past.


The Last Handful of Clover is a sweeping supernatural thriller about love, loss, regret, and redemption.  It is a novel of terror, in which one man is called upon to face the sins of his past in order to save the future for the man he loves, and a city of over a million innocent souls.


Peopled by a cast of unforgettable characters, The Last Handful of Clover is an epic hero’s journey into darkness.  From the remote Montana wilderness of 1810 to a secret chemical weapons laboratory under the Utah desert, the scope of The Last Handful of Clover is breathtaking, and lays bare the desperate longings, universal loss, and inevitable anguish of being human.


About the Novel

The Last Handful of Clover is an epic story, told in three volumes, clocking in at over 516,000 words and 207 chapters (plus nine poem fragments).


The main action of the novel is set in Salt Lake City, Utah.  And although the main story unfolds in the reader’s contemporary time, the book is also rich with historical context and backstory that trace the origins of several key characters.  These early scenes take place in May of 1810 (in the wilderness of Montana), September of 1847 (in the western Utah desert), the summer of 1857 (in Wyoming, early Salt Lake City, and in the Utah desert near what eventually becomes the town of Scipio), and scattered moments in both the 20th and 21st centuries.


Each of the three books is made up of between 60 and 85 short chapters:

Book 1 — He Kindly Stopped For Me

Book 2 — The Carriage Held but Just Ourselves

Book 3 — And Eternity


In addition to regular narrative chapters, the novel includes poem fragments and journal entries written in the voice of Keith Woo (one of the primary characters).  The convention in the novel is that these are “found writings,” discovered, collected, and published some years after the events of the story have concluded.


Available On-Line, Spring 2021

I realize that this is a big book. It is actually a bit longer than the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy combined, and just a bit shorter than War and Peace! So I realize it won’t be of interest to everyone. But if you’re intrigued, and would like to join me on this epic journey, I promise you a wild ride.


My current plan is to serialize the chapters on Patreon (by subscription) in the Spring, with a delayed release on WattPad one or two months later. Watch this page for details, or sign up for my e-mail list, and I’ll let you know when it is available!

Life is a bitch, his dark companion said— and then you die.
Not so! cried Henry. Life is a glorious, shining and splendid adventure—

and then you die.

—Edward Abbey, The Fool’s Progress